CPM Advertising


CPM Marketing

CPM marketing or advertising is a technique for calculating the expense of putting ads on your site through an ad network. It also calculates how much you may earn if you publish the ads that are on your site. CPM stands for cost per mile. It is also known as cost per thousand impression. It is also abbreviated as CPI.

Step 1

Get an online analysis service so you can assess how many page views you get. Note: these analytic programs assess the page view numbers, not the visitors. These programs usually assess the views your site gets for a specific period (i.e., a month). This is crucial because the CPM rates are assessed by the page views drawn. It also uses the page’s content quality and the keywords used.

Step 2

The next step is to choose a rate range for the amount that you want to charge the advertisers. This will be for the space they will use on your site. For instance, assume you want to impose a fee of $120 yearly ($10 monthly) for a predetermined ad size. To calculate the CPM marketing costs, divide the ten dollars via the page views the site attains in a 30 day span.

Assume the site gets 2500 visits every 30 days. 10/2500 = 0.004. It means you need to find an advertiser who will pay $0.004 per for every page view. To obtain a CPM rate of $4, 0.004 must be multiplied by 1000.

Research

It is also important that you examine the average CPM rates for ads that have products connected to the subjects on your site. You can check out the various rates at Google AdWords, Google AdSense, Bing and Yahoo. It is also possible to market the ad rates via CPM. This can help you draw other advertisers.

Tips

It may take some time, but you will eventually find the right spot. One thing you can do is to undercut or match the CPM tendered by the biggest web advertisers. This can help attract different advertisers and generate monthly income. Make sure that you compare CPM costs for ad options, make certain the ads are equivalent.

When conducting CPM marketing analysis, keep in mind that they can be compared across different mediums. This includes the Internet, TV and print. However, quantifying a good CPM will vary. One has to consider the ad itself and where it will be placed.